Rother and Rye Education Improvement Partnership was established in 2015 as Rother EIP, expanding to incorporate Rye area schools in 2018.

The partnership consists of forty schools, composed of five secondary schools and twenty five primary schools.  The partnership has three areas of focus: quality teaching and learning, enhancing middle leadership and developing senior leaders.  The partnership is principally funded by East Sussex County Council.

The partnership co-chairs are James Freeston (primary executive headteacher) and Paul Swatton (secondary headteacher), supported by Stephen Calladine-Evans (coordinator).  Both headteachers sit on the Rother TSA executive and present the partnership at the Primary and Secondary Boards.

The partnership encompasses three Early Years Excellence Hubs, supporting early years settings across the area.  Through Rother TSA the EYEH have been able to access funding from the Laurel Trust to operate practitioner research groups to investigate and improve early years practice.

Strategic leadership is provided by the EIP executive, which is open to every headteacher in Rother and Rye.  Local, operational activities are led by one of three area groups: Bexhill, Battle & Robertsbridge and Rye. Rother TSA (based in St Richard’s Catholic College) operates within the partnership and supports it’s activities.

Shared professional development

Recognising the need for financial sustainability the partnership agreed to share professional development provision from September 2020.

Each school in the partnership makes available places on in-house twilight and INSET professional development activities.  The available professional development can be booked by Rother and Rye schools at no cost using our secure database.